Tags

, ,

I’m happy to say we survived the first week and feel we learned a few things on the way. I’m going to try to record my thoughts here, or I will forget, like I do everything these days.confetti21.jpg

1. More than the lack of sleep, tension will get you, so try to relax. Skip the coffee and the hysterical nap, and do something you love: I rearranged my closet and figured out what fits and what doesn’t so getting dressed in the mornings is less frustrating. Take a warm bubble bath before going to bed, enjoy some light reading before bedtime, etc.

2. Set small, realistic goals for each day. My day three goal was get dressed and put makeup on. On day four I wore Anna in her sling and got some chores done around the house. Day five I baked an easy cake, just to prove I could. Day six we went to the supermarket.

3. Filter the advice. We got some good tips, like our midwife taught me that changing latching positions helps to not destroy your nipples, and a few others I can’t really remember now. But anything else was better tossed out the window. Just a lot of contrasting opinions, which goes to prove there is no one size fits all.

4. Be kind to yourself and to your spouse.

5. Block out the outside world, if necessary, and don’t feel bad about it. You’re busy. If you have a half hour of peace do something for yourself, take a shower, a walk, do your nails.

5. Be ready to cry for things you never thought possible, like the fact that your newborn won’t be a newborn for long. Expect some frustration every day, and some progress, too.

6. Don’t try to do too much!

