Tags

, , , , ,

A couple of weeks ago was my husband’s birthday. I knew I wanted to make him a coconut cake (we all need something that tastes sunny in February), but every recipe I found online seemed too rich and complicated to me. I tend to prefer recipes with fewer ingredients, where possible.

I was surprised and intrigued when I found this recipe that belonged to Emily Dickinson!

I think it came out just wonderful: not too rich and with a pound cake consistency. Of course, being a birthday cake, I contaminated by smothering it in coconut frosting. I really liked how the two worked together since the cake wasn’t too sweet.

Plus, it was fun to tell the birthday boy who gave me the recipe…

Emily-Dickinson-Coconut-Cake-Close-640x480

Please squint real hard and imagine this as a round birthday cake with coconut frosting.

